top of page

FAVORITE HAIR PRODUCTS

YOU GUYS IM BACK!! and i am so so excited! What a crazy 7ish months. I started college, got a full time job, bought a car and my twin brother aka bff left on a mission for our church. Its been the longest, craziest months of my life but I'm happy to report that i am now working part time (no full time college student should ever have a full time job haha), i'm still going to school full time, and i'm starting my majors program in the fall! I thought the best way to come back after these long 7 months was with a blog post all about the question i get asked most, HAIR PRODUCTS/ROUTINE/STYLING! So without more rambling about my life lets get into everything hair related!!

PRODUCTS:

I'm not a believer that you need expensive products to have long, healthy hair. There are plenty of drug store options that work well, you just have to find what works for your hair.

-Shampoo/Conditioner

For my whole life I used Herbal Essences Hello Hydration shampoo and conditioner. I love these products and they work really well for my dry hair! I love the coconut scent. The shampoo and conditioner are $3 at Target and they always have coupons.

I recently was reading another blog where they talked about using horse shampoo?? of course I was taken aback and kept reading. As I researched peoples experiences and their results, I decided to try for myself. I bought the Main and Tail shampoo and conditioner from Amazon, around $15 for both. After a month of using the products, I do like the shampoo. My hair feels super clean and thick but I don't love the conditioner, it doesn't feel super hydrating. My hair is already super dry so I combine their conditioner with a hair mask (down below). I will most likely purchase again and ill keep you updated if I notice any significant changes!

The last shampoo is the Clairol Professional Shimmer Lights Blonde and Silver Shampoo. It is a purple shampoo I use on my hair 2-3 times a month to keep it from looking brassy. I got my hair balayaged over a year ago, and I have been using the same bottle of shampoo. I really recommend it for brightening up your dull blonde. I'm getting my hair balayaged again this weekend and I definitely will continue using this product to keep my color brighter, longer!

-Deep Conditioners

As I mentioned before, my hair is very dry through the ends and so I love to use deep conditioning masks. I use a hair mask every time I wash my hair with my conditioner, but I find that they can get pretty expensive for how little product you get. I buy my deep conditioners on clearance, or I use my favorite inexpensive one!

I recently got the Renewing Argan Oil Of Morocco Intense Moisturizing Treatment on clearance at Walmart for $3 (originally $8) I left it on my hair for about 5 minutes after washing it. My hair has never felt so smooth and hydrated. I really recommend this mask if you want to spend a little more money.

My favorite cheap hair mask is the Garnier Fructis Smoothing Treat Hair Mask. I got it from Target for $3 and have been using it for over a month and haven't even used a fourth of it! (and i have a lot of hair) This is definitely my go to hair mask, it smells great and keeps my hair hydrated.

-Heat Protectant

My favorite heat protectant is another product by Garnier Fructis! They have super inexpensive products that work well. I love their argan oil heat protectant. It works great to make my dry, dull hair shiny! I use this after letting my hair air dry, whether i use heat or not!

-Dry Shampoo

Guys I'm sorry to say i'm not the basic blogger you thought I was.. I actually don't love dry shampoo and to me nothing beats having freshly washed hair, in fact if I could, I would wash my hair every single day but ain't nobody got time for dat. While I don't use dry shampoo to clean my hair after days without washing, I do use it to add texture to create volume! After letting my hair air dry I massage a little bit into my scalp and it adds so much volume! I've tested lots of dry shampoo and either they are too gritty or smell too strong.. but the Dove Dry Shampoo has proved to be the best so far. I prefer the coconut scent!

TOOLS:

-Curling Iron

And now to reveal my biggest secret.. how i curl my hair!! Just kidding, not a secret but the question i get asked most! I have used a Nume curling wand for almost 4 years now! I use the 32mm wand and it gives the perfect wavy curl. My hair is naturally very curly but this smooths out all the kinks to give the most perfect large curls. Even though it is more expensive than I would usually pay, it has lasted me forever and I would recommend to anyone!!

I hope you all enjoyed reading about my favorite products and can see that you don't have to have salon products to have long and healthy hair! I love trying new products so if you have a go to product dm me or leave a comment on my instagram!

And again THANK YOU for sticking around while life is crazy. I love blogging and hope that it'll always be a part of me!

xoxo

Tylie Sue


bottom of page