top of page

styling short hair

The "lob" or long bob is taking over the hair world. I have a few hairstyles and tips for you when it comes to styling the lob!

The first style is a casual pony tail. It can be hard to pull all your hair back, especially if your hair is shorter then hers. To make sure you get all the hair, braid the bangs and pull it back into a pony in the middle of the head. I did a simple dutch braid which i pancaked to add some texture. I also back combed the pony tail to add more volume.

The next two are half up styles. I just pulled up half the hair and braided it. I added some texture so the braid would stay by adding some dry shampoo and a tiny bit of back combing.

This is the same braid i just pulled it apart a bunch to create a messy, more voluminous style. I set this one with some hairspray to hold the volume and add more texture!

This last style is a half up bun. I absolutely love this style and did a similar look in 5 of my Favorite Braided Hairstyles post. I just pulled her hair up into a high half up and back combed quite a bit to add volume. I then wrapped it around itself and pinned it in place with bobby pins. This style is great for second day hair.

I have a few tips for you when it comes to perfecting the lob. First, texture, texture, texture. When doing any hairstyle whether curly, straight, or up it is important to make sure the hair holds. I do this by back combing, which is very different from ratting, it is a smooth down ward motion. Do not move the brush up and down. This can create damage and a painful mess.

Next is my absolute favorite hair supply ever, dry shampoo. Dry shampoo does not only remove oil for a fresh look but it adds texture to help keep its shape and add volume.

I love loose wavy curls. For short hair i love to use a flat iron or a fat curling iron. I love my 32 mm by Nume. I will be sharing where I get all these products in a post coming soon so stay on the look out!

These hairstyles are perfect styles for your lob but work on my long hair as well. If you enjoyed this check out my other hair post 5 of my Favorite Braided Hairstyles

xoxo,

Tylie Sue


bottom of page