top of page

Easter 2016

Easter is one of my favorite holidays. I love the pastel colors and the flowers. Some of my favorite Easter traditions are making sugar cookies and coloring eggs. We then spend the next few days eating our hard work.

I loved coloring eggs and mixing the colors to create fun shades. After coloring eggs we peeled them and had Egg Salad Sandwiches, another Easter tradition!

We make these delicious sugar cookies for almost every holiday. My favorite time to make them though, is spring. I love the fun colors and all the cute cookie cutters. The recipe and frosting are not complicated but definitely delicious! The recipe is below.

Sugar Cookies

Ingredients:

1 c sugar

1/2 c butter (softened)

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla

3 1/4 c flour

1 tsp baking soda

1 c sour cream

Steps:

1. Cream together the sugar and soft butter.

2. Add egg and vanilla and mix.

3. Add flour, baking soda, salt and sour cream, mix.

4. Roll dough out 1/4" thick.

5. Bake at 375 degrees for 5-8 minutes

Frosting

1/4 c butter

6 c powdered sugar

2 tsp vanilla

milk

Steps:

1. Cream butter, vanilla and powdered sugar.

2. Add milk until the consistency of the frosting is spreadable but not runny

3. OPTIONAL add food coloring for fun, themed colors!

- Approximately 100 calories each

Easter is a holiday full of fun but we must not forget the reason for the holiday. I am grateful that my Savior died for me and was resurrected and that I can celebrate what he did for me with my family. To watch a beautiful video about Easter, click the link below.

xoxo,

Tylie Sue

bottom of page